CHRO Welcomes New Commissioners

Governor Malloy has recently appointed Joseph M. Suggs, Jr., Shuana K. Tucker, Lisa Gilberto, and Cherron Payne to serve on the Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities, the nine-member body which sets general policy for the CHRO as a whole.

“At a time when civil rights seem to be more imperiled than ever, it is heartening to see CHRO Logo 2our Commission nearing a full roster of members,” said Executive Director Tanya Hughes. “We welcome each of our recently-appointed Commissioners, and look forward to working with them to fulfill our agency’s mission.”

The Commission on Human Rights and Opportunities is composed of five members appointed by the Governor and four members appointed by the leadership of the legislature. Generally, the Commission meets on a monthly basis on the second Wednesday of each month.

“Each of our Commissioners brings varied experience and a unique perspective to their work. Be it private practice or public service, our agency is richer for having their voices at the table,” added Deputy Director Cheryl Sharp.

The CHRO is one of the oldest state civil rights agencies in the nation, established in 1943. Its continuing mission is to “eliminate discrimination through civil and human rights law enforcement and to establish equal opportunity and justice for all persons within the state through advocacy and education.”